10/18/2023 Map Stopped Working?
Visit this post for the fix

Questions about initial setup

23 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@armand5000)
Topic starter  

Hi, I am a complete beginner with raspberry pi and projects like this but decided to try something that would usually be out of my comfort zone. Unfortunately I have already found myself stuck and before I toss in the towel I thought I reach out for some help. I ordered a canakit with raspberry pi v 4 model b. I setup the system with a key board and mouse and have it on a HDMI monitor. I loaded the 32gb mini usb that came with the kit in the raspberry pi and can get to the main operating system. I then was able to login to the wifi and set it up with my local settings. This allowed it to update the raspberry pi. I then took the 32gb usb out and put it in my Mac.  I downloaded LiveSectionalV4_360.img and the balenaEtcher software. I opened the balenaEtcher software and selected the LiveSectionalV4_360.img as the flash from file and the 32 usb USB as the target and hit flash. I then got the usb out of the Mac and back in the raspberry pi when completed, but this is where I get stuck. 

20210206 234239

This is what now shows up when I put the 32gb usb back in the raspberry pi. I downloaded the BerryLan App but can't find BT WLAN setup in the list. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Armand 

Mark Harris
(@markyharris)
Member Admin Registered

Hi Armand,

Sorry for the hassles. I know my partner Bill has installed this on a RPi4 successfully but I've not tried it. Also, you mentioned that you are putting the image on a USB rather than an MicroSD card that gets installed under the board. If that's the case, I wonder if that's why you are having these problems. I've never tried using a USB to run/boot an RPi.